Story of My Tea Reviews

Curious why we are the best tea subscription? See what our customers have to say.

4.8
4.8 rating
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 23 reviews)
Excellent87%
Very good9%
Average4%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Fun concept, quality tea

5.0 rating
April 7, 2019

Enjoying the execution and evolution of blind tea tasting. Can’t say I love every tea, but the ones I love are exceptional quality home run teas: hyberabadi chai,  for example, and Tulsi orange ginger tisane are pretty much life changing. Listing caffeine info is a very helpful recent development. Excited to see how this evolves!

Nicole McKinney

Tasty teas, but not as much of an education as I expected

4.0 rating
April 24, 2019

Overall I’ve enjoyed receiving these teas. I’ve probably only found two or three so far that I would continue purchasing in the future, but that seems like a reasonable ratio for the number of teas received every month. The amount in each little packet is good for sharing and tasting a few times. I wish there were more insights each month into tasting and learning about the types of tea, such as a comparison between them, even a progression from month to month. Otherwise, I am happy with the subscription.

Lauren Wittine

No Title

5.0 rating
April 14, 2019
Terry Sanders

Nice Aromas

5.0 rating
April 12, 2019

Really enjoyed trying different blends.Most samples had a very pleasant fragrance and enjoyed sipping while reading.
I would like more decaffeinated choices.(Nice that decaf was indicated on the package). I prefer to have in the evening.
Don’t care much for rooibos flavor,the smell reminds me of an old haystack.

MJ Fong

Fantastic tea surprises in the mail

5.0 rating
April 9, 2019

I have received a few sets of these mystery teas and love them! They are high quality and very tasty.

Lindsay Emert

Fun and tasty

5.0 rating
April 6, 2019

Backed this on Kickstarter thinking it would be a fun way to try new teas. My wife and I make a game out of trying to figure out what kind of tea we are trying and where it’s from.

Adam

International vacation that comes to you in the mail

5.0 rating
April 6, 2019

I’m loving the tasting packages! The teas are varied and exotic, and the fun of guessing what they are before looking them up is more than an awesome novelty, you actually start to learn what to look for. If you want to take a short moment every month and lose yourself in something as fantastically trivial as tea tasting, this is for you!

Ryan Mauldin

Great for my Game Nights

5.0 rating
April 4, 2019

It’s just an overall enjoyable experience. I got the chance to do it with my players before a session of DnD and it was a hit! Even when I did it on my own it’s been fun to challenge myself to see how well I can identify the tea I’m smelling and tasting.

Alex

I've enjoyed my time with Story of my Tea, but I'll be letting it lapse.

4.0 rating
April 4, 2019

I’m glad I backed this kickstarter project. The blind tea tasting packaging has been a fun novelty, and while I haven’t been absolutely blown away by any of the selections so far, they have all been of excellent quality and good taste. I’ve even bookmarked a couple blends for a possible later order. And while I’m thinking about it, the packaging is top notch. Love the envelope the tea’s come in, and the little black bags.
All that said, I think I’ll be buying in for one more month, and then letting my subscription lapse. You lot have created a fun service I appreciate, but not one that is necessary. I understand the tea market is an expensive one, especially once packaging and shipping come into play, but unfortunately I don’t value mystery sample bags at $4 ea.
That said, from one startup junkie to another, I love what you’ve done with the QR codes connecting customers directly to a store page to order more of that blend. Using the novelty of blind samples as a means of getting your foot in the door and people tasting your product, then connecting them directly to where they can buy more is a great idea that you need to do more with.
I’m sure this is what you’re already doing, and take this with a grain of salt as I am not privy to the margins you’re running on, but I’d lean heavier into subsidizing the Blind bag service as a loss leader, and doing more to call attention to your storefront as your main means of margin, connecting your customers to blends they like and selling it directly. At the moment I’ve only noticed it as a byproduct of looking up the flavor, and even then I don’t feel a call to action to buy more. If I had instead relied on the provided flash cards (which I assume a fair amount of customers do), I wouldn’t even know I could buy more directly from you! Apart from the $5/$10 coupon hidden in the back of the flash cards, there’s absolutely no explicit pointer to your web store, or mention being able to buy more of a particular blend.
In short, while I enjoy the gimmick of the Blind bag samples, as a customer I don’t really see it as service I need despite the fun novelty of it (which, to reiterate, is very well done), and as a business development manager I see it as being more of a marketing tool for your store than an end product.

Nick Schoichet

TEAriffic

5.0 rating
April 4, 2019

Everything about this process is easy and fun. I did a long-distance tea with my friend, SoMT set it up so that we both get the same teas each month. We smell it, see it and taste it and try to guess what tea it is before we do the big reveal. Pouches easily match labels on the reveal cards and also have QR codes to scan for more information. The packaging is so beautiful. The only thing I would like to add is that the baggies have ziplocks to keep the tea fresh because I rarely finish all the tea and it’s not enough to devote a whole tin to. Speaking with the owner is always pleasant and easy. Highly recommend.

Carly Stewart
preloader